Welcome to the homepage of the project Ptolemaeus Arabus et Latinus (PAL). For the time being the website only provides basic information on the project and the people associated with it. In the coming months we will add a database of Ptolemaic works and the Arabic and Latin manuscripts of those works. This continuously updated database is expected to become a major research tool for any scholar interested in the Ptolemaic tradition in Arabic or Latin, and more generally in medieval astronomy and astrology. The database will include a digital reproduction and transcription of a representative manuscript of each work, and also full editions of these works prepared by members of the PAL team or scholars associated with the project.

Ptolemaeus Arabus et Latinus is a project of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities and the University of Würzburg. It has been established as part of the Akademienprogramm of the Federal Republic of Germany and the German federal states for a period of 25 years beginning in 2013. The project is dedicated to the edition and study of the Arabic and Latin versions of Ptolemy's astronomical and astrological works and related material. The project director, Prof. Dr. Dag Nikolaus Hasse, is professor at the Julius Maximilian University of Würzburg, while the researchers of the project are based at the Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities in Munich. The team includes two research leaders, Dr. David Juste and Dr. Benno van Dalen, and three full-time researchers, currently Dr. María José Parra Pérez, Dr. Henry Zepeda and the doctoral student Bojidar Dimitrov. A listing of the complete PAL team can be found here.


Ptolemaeus Arabus et Latinus
Bavarian Academy of Sciences and Humanities
Alfons-Goppel-Straße 11
80539 Munich

Website: ptolemaeus.badw.de
Email: info@ptolemaeus.badw.de


The Ptolemy team in July 2015
The Ptolemaeus Arabus et Latinus team in July 2015. From left to right: Marie-Luise Zurhake, Stefan Georges, Claudia Dorl-Klingenschmid, Irina Galynina, Hayim Malkhasy, María José Parra Pérez, Benno van Dalen, Menso Folkerts (Chairman of the Academy Commission for History of Science), Dag Nikolaus Hasse, Bastian Gröppmaier, Bojidar Dimitrov, David Juste, Dominik Knaupp, Stefan Müller, and Henry Zepeda.